By Tamara Dini Friday, June 14, 2013

Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA) was formed in December 1994 as a regional organisation whose mission is to promote economic integration through trade and investment in Eastern and Southern Africa (the “Common Market”). It compromises 19 member states – Burundi, Comoros, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Libya, Madagascar, Mauritius, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sudan, Swaziland, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe and the Republics of Egypt and Malawi. A regional COMESA competition law regime has been introduced to apply to all member states, some of which already have national competition laws in place while others (specifically, Eritrea, the Democratic Repblic of Congo, Uganda, Libya and Djibouti) have no dedicated domestic competition laws at this stage, which means that COMESA will introduce competition law regimes in these member states.

Read further